Timeline of American Psychological Association Policies and Actions Related to Detainee Welfare and Professional Ethics in the Context of Interrogation and National Security

Sept. 21, 2018

APA President Jessica Henderson Daniel, PhD, ABPP, responds[1] (PDF, 68KB) to the Defense Department letter of concern regarding APA’s 2015 Council resolution on psychologists and national security.

Aug. 9, 2018

Acting Assistant Secretary of Defense for Health Affairs Tom McCaffery sends a letter of concern[2] (PDF, 34KB) to APA’s Board of Directors about APA’s 2015 Council resolution regarding the role of military psychologists in national security settings.

May 1, 2018 

APA CEO Arthur C. Evans Jr., PhD, sends a lette[3]r (PDF, 55KB) to the Senate Intelligence Committee expressing serious concern about the nomination of Gina Haspel for director of the CIA.

Oct. 22, 2017

Aug. 23, 2017

APA President Antonio E. Puente, PhD, and CEO Arthur C. Evans, PhD, send letters to President Donald J. Trump and other key federal officials to inform them about our APA policies regarding psychologists’ roles in national security and interrogation processes. 

Feb. 16, 2017

Five plaintiffs file a lawsuit against the Association arising out of the publication of the Independent Review.

Feb. 13, 2017

APA President Antonio Puente, PhD, and Interim CEO Cynthia Belar, PhD, ABPP, send letters to President Donald J. Trump and other key federal officials to urge against use of torture or abusive treatment of detainees. Letters included a statement by the Society of Military Psychology[4] (APA Div. 19 — PDF, 94KB) co-signed by 40 of APA’s 54 divisions.

Jan. 27, 2017

Nov. 22, 2016

APA President Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, ABPP, sends a letter to U.S. Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz.[5] (PDF, 51KB), expressing APA’s strong support of his statement in which he pledged that the United States will not waterboard national security detainees and reiterated his opposition to torture.

June 11, 2016

APA Past Presidents Cantor, DeLeon, Fox, Graham, Matarazzo, Seligman, Sternberg and Zimbardo send an open letter[6] (PDF, 114KB) to the APA Board of Directors, Council of Representatives, divisions and staff.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7